Currently reading: “The Hours” by Michael Cunningham

Howdy, friends.

This is what I’m reading now:

Hours

I was at the library one day, and they had a display of Pulitzer winners. Even though I am trying to not get any more library books until I make a dent in my nightstand, I had to go look. I took out this book, which I can’t believe I haven’t read yet.

Then I started it last night, and I’m pretty sure I’ve already read it. I’ve done this before (more than once), but at least this time I didn’t buy a book I already have. I’ll keep reading and see if I really have read it … Maybe at 39 my memory is just fading? I already think I’ll need bifocals when I go to the eye doctor tomorrow (and if indeed I do, then you’ll find me drinking away my fleeting youth at the bar on Wednesday night, until I realize I can’t stay awake past 9 p.m.).

Anyway. Here is a review. I’ve never seen the movie, but maybe I’ll rent it after this. (Which reminds me of a well written column by my coworker Jill, which you can read here.)

And I just wanted to give yet another shout out to “A Constellation of Vital Phenomena.” I finished it on Monday while the kids ate breakfast, and I burst into tears on the last page. I don’t remember ever doing that with a book. But the whole story just keeps twisting your heart more and more and by the end, you kind of explode.

Go get it.

And then tell me: What are you reading?

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

