Week in running

Howdy, friends.

I’m three weeks out from the race and had an OK week. I ended up with 54 miles, including 17.5 on Saturday and 17 on Sunday.

It’s weird to have so many of my miles locked up on the weekend, but that’s just the way it goes, I guess. I had planned for higher weekend mileage, but a change in Philip’s schedule prevented that.

That’s OK.

I also had to call in favors from two friends before dawn on Saturday. It was a reminder of both how obsessive I am about running and how grateful I am for equally obsessive friends.

On Saturday, Erica and Chris and I met at 5 and ran about 10 miles. (The first favor was asking them to meet at 5 at my house.) Then Philip had to go to work, so Erica went in my house and began babysitting so he could leave, while Chris and I did another 7.5 miles.

It’s a good friend who is willing to babysit at 6:30 in the morning.

The kids loved it — she gave them donuts and Cap’n Crunch for breakfast. Kid heaven! And they had super fun. Plus I knew they were in excellent hands and that made doing something as selfish as getting in another hour of running easier.

After that, I was pressed for time to get to a soccer game with Jack. So we hustled and made it there, and Viv and I sat in the cold wind watching him. He did great!

I told Jack he couldn’t have the after-game snack if he doesn’t kick the ball, so that seems to have jumpstarted some interest in the game. Hey, whatever works.

The kids and I had a busy day — the game, the grocery store, home to put chili in the crockpot. Then nobody would nap, so I took them to the new library branch across town.

By the time we were done there, I was so exhausted and realized I hadn’t really eaten anything. I felt unsafe driving home, I was just so tired. I let the kids each get a DVD at the library, so we watched some TV when we got home. Yay for Bob the Builder!

Thankfully, Philip was home by 5, and he took one look at me and took over and I fell asleep on the couch at 6 p.m. That’s a good husband.

Sunday, we all slept in and didn’t start running until 6:30.

Chris and I drove to Lake Alvin to run gravel roads over to Good Earth State Park. We ran about 4.5 miles to/from the park, and another 8 on the trails there. It was hilly and very bumpy terrain. Beautiful, so beautiful, and peaceful and quiet (except my gasping for air going uphill). There was a light rain I didn’t much mind.

Here‘s a link to the trails.

And once again, the Nathan backpack was awesome. I’m still very pleased with my purchase. Though I did discover that if you throw a headlamp on a bag of potato chips in the back, they will be completely crushed when you want them. Noted.

The run was good — not great, but good. The footing was just really uneven, and a mile from the car, the ball of my right foot started to really hurt. It’s bothered me on and off this summer. Usually I wake up and it hurts for like an hour, and then it’s over.

Not this time.

It still hurts today.

So, I’ll take today off. Probably tomorrow, too, and a day after that. I’m already in shape to finish the race. And I had nightmares of my foot actually just breaking on my run yesterday, so let’s try to hold that off.

So, that’s that. I had hoped for one more monster week, but I’m also fine if that doesn’t happen. There isn’t much I can do from here on out to get in better shape, but there’s a lot I can do to hurt my foot if it really is on the verge of falling apart. And maybe I just have taper madness already.

It’s possible.

But why take chances?

Happy running.

 

This entry was posted in Injury, Marathon, Running, State Parks, Training, Ultramarathons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

