Celebrate good times, come on …

Howdy, friends.

This will be a little hodgepodge of what’s up lately. Not much.

Work. I feel like I work all the time. Everybody probably feels that way, so I’ll try not to dwell on it here. I spend many miles lamenting it with my running friends, so I should probably only bore one audience, right?

This morning I met Chris and Erica for an earlybird run, and we got in 6 miles and made plans to knock out 20 tomorrow.

We’re sort of all in a state of limbo. My fall marathon is uncertain — that weird calf injury derailed me for a bit. Though I have a history of standing at a starting line with less than ideal training, I’m not sure I want to do that in 3 weeks. It would be my third marathon in 11 months, so it isn’t like I haven’t done some training this year, but just maybe not the kind I want to do.

Still, I haven’t ruled out the race. Erica, too, is on the fence. Tomorrow’s long run will help her (and me) decide. I hope it goes well. I’m borrowing my husband’s CamelBak for the first time, so that will be interesting.

Chris is getting ready for an ultra in late October. I’m thinking about that, too. Running 31 miles on dirt sounds delicious to me, and I know I’d have a training partner, which always helps. I’ve mostly given up my back-to-back Jack 15 runs … though not the plain old Jack 15 itself. I’m just exploring a ton of regional options right now, and might not do any. I need a sponsor for race fees. Anyone?

But right now I’m not really making any plans. Just running what feels good, teaching spin classes and forgetting to do push-ups all the time.

I’m also in the middle of what feels like a neverending painting project in our kitchen. Reading a book I don’t love and wanting to give it up. Having zero time to cook and being grateful that I freeze a ton of stuff and make double batches of everything — so I have lentil soup for lunch.

But more than all of that, I am waiting eagerly for my best friend to have her second baby. This morning I heard “Celebration” while driving to work, and we used to roller skate in her driveway singing that. It made me so happy to hear it, and so hopeful that her baby will arrive soon — healthy and fast. But not too fast.

Happy reading, running, working and baby-waiting.

This entry was posted in Laurie, Marathon, Ultramarathons. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celebrate good times, come on …

  1. Dave Graves says:

    Thanks for including the Jack 15 link. As you may have noted, USATF is offering prize money for the top three places in men’s and women’s, open and master’s divisions. That was the case in the Beef and Eggs 5K also. Only 10 of the 240 entrants were USATF members and none were females. So buying a membership could reimburse your entry fee.

Leave a Reply

