I am a weakling

Howdy friends.

I started the slow slide into panic last week about getting ready for the Boston Marathon. I know, it isn’t until April.

It’s not even December yet.

But if you consider I will be tapering for all of April, that means I need to be doing my last 20-miler in March. And if I want to get a few in, I need to be doing at least one at the end of February. And if I want to do more than 20 miles, like 22 or 23, then I probably need to do that first 20 like at the beginning of February.

I mean, really, it’s just not that far away.

It’s tough to balance how soon to start ramping up with not burning yourself out.

For Twin Cities this year, I ran four 50-mile weeks. For Boston, I’d like to do four 60-mile weeks. (My highest ever is 70 miles, and I just don’t have time for that anymore.) So, I should probably get moving.

The last two weeks I’ve been over 30 again, after some low weeks following the race. And I ran 12 miles on Sunday, easing back into long runs. I followed that with 7 on Monday, 7.5 today and a 45-minute weightlifting class, which reminded me that I have zero strength.

Old ladies lift more weight than me. Really. I see them. In the same class. It’s kind of horrifying.

But I’m determined to try to lift regularly this winter. It makes a huge difference, I know it.

We’ll see. I have to be really flexible with my husband’s work schedule, knowing I can’t do long runs whenever I want. That’s fine — it just means I can’t follow a plan.

And now I’m … what, 17 weeks to Boston? 18 weeks? If I can get through the holidays without turning into a fat pig (why did I eat a quarter of a pie last night? And then why did I chase it with some leftover dinner rolls?) and around 40 miles a week in December, I think we’ll be OK. That means 50-mile weeks in January, and 60s in February and March.

Good god, that’s creeping up.

Here we go.

Happy running.

 

This entry was posted in Boston Marathon, Marathon, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

