Raising a bookworm

Howdy, friends.

It’s Election Day, but this is a blog post gleefully free of politics. Unless you think reading is political.

We celebrated a milestone this weekend: Jack got his first library card.

He would not sit still long enough for me to get a picture.

I can’t remember how old I was when I had my first one, but I do remember checking books out and losing myself for what felt like hours in the stacks of the children’s area. I know I’ve mentioned this before, but I checked out the same book of Edna St. Vincent Millay poetry over and over. (Aside: The biography of her, “Savage Beauty,” was incredible. NY Times review here.)

We take our kids to the library a lot — every two weeks or so. I let them throw whatever books they want into the plastic basket, until it’s full, and then we leave. We’ve discovered some great books that way, and some less-than-great ones. I keep meaning to start a list of all the books we’ve read, so Jack and Viv can keep count.

I so hope I raise bookworms. I want them to love reading as much as I do — and I love it as much, more, than I love running. More than I love apple pie and Diet Coke. That’s a lot, baby.

Their nightstands look like mine — tipping over with books.

Jack picked out a stack of books, and then requested one on T. Rex, so we found a special dinosaur section and got one. I also let him take out two DVDs, which is a fun treat. One is a telling of “Harry and the Dirty Dog,” which is very sweet. We’ve read the book, so it’s fun to watch the book. He also got a Muppet Christmas movie, which we haven’t watched. I think it’s a bit too old for him, but I couldn’t convince him otherwise in the library. He’s pretty persuasive.

As for me, I am reading “Girlchild” by Tupelo Hassman.

Author website here, and book review here. I totally picked it based on the cover. I am so lame. And then the author blurbs on the back were from authors and books I really loved, including Heather O’Neill, who wrote “Lullabies for Little Criminals.” It’s a great book.

And a blurb by Bonnie Jo Campbell, who wrote “American Salvage.” Which when I just looked up, realized was not the book I thought. I was thinking of “American Rust,” which was great. I guess now I’ll put the Campbell book on my neverending list. I am forever confusing books. It’s embarrassing.

Happy reading. To Jack, too. Who said, “I couldn’t have a library card because I was 3. But I’m 4 now.”

Right, buddy. Old enough.

 

 

This entry was posted in Books, Jack. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Raising a bookworm

  1. Candace says:

    Love this!! I too hope to raise a bookworm. Right now we are at eating the books and turning some of the pages. 🙂

  2. Erin Sacleux says:

    I love this! I don’t know how old I was when I got my first card, either, but books have been and continue to be my lifelong boon companions. Here’s to hoping your kids find the same joy in the written word that you obviously do. (With your example, I think it’s a safe bet!)

  3. Kim says:

    I always feel so content in a library, especially sitting on the floor reading through children`s books. Happy reading, Jack! I have no doubt that he will treasure books, whether listening to a good story or reading it himself! I am off to read to our 8 year old…he still loves it and we haven`t stopped yet, even though he loves reading on his own now. We are reading, Wonder. Miss you all, Jackie!

  4. Danni says:

    This is so sweet and awesome!

Leave a Reply

