An essay on running

Howdy, friends.

I ran across this today.

It talks about the “tribe” of runners, and while I hate the word tribe like that (and also any time anyone talks about anything but an actual journey being a journey), I do like this:

And we know one another because we have regular tribal gatherings, road races, every weekend in cities and towns across the country. We love to share our experiences. What fun would a race really be without the camaraderie, and excuse-making, after the finish?

I know I plan to make many excuses after I finish Twin Cities on Sunday. Lots of them.

And I like this:

Dr. George Sheehan, the philosopher-king of running, often said, “Success rests in having the courage and endurance and, above all, the will to become the person you were destined to be.”

Hmm. I hope my destiny isn’t to be a big old excuse-maker.

But this, this is what I need to remember:

Nonrunners often imagine that people can cover 26.2 miles only because they have lean, muscled legs and a highly developed cardiovascular system. Nothing could be further from the truth. The runner’s most important organ, by far, is the brain — the source of our dreams, drive and determination. Almost a century ago, the great Finnish distance runner Paavo Nurmi said: “Mind is everything; muscle, mere pieces of rubber. All that I am, I am because of my mind.”

I definitely miss my goals in most races not because I didn’t train for it, physically, but because I completely talk myself out of it mentally.

I’m going to try not to do that Sunday. And if I do, I know that all my excuses will be understood by the group of friends who also are running, who meet at the “S” in front of the Capitol, and make fun of each other at the finish.

Happy running. I’ll be back later with pre-race stats. Oh yeah.

 

This entry was posted in Marathon, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

