Doing doubles

Howdy, friends.

First off, here is a link to my column from today’s paper. I never link them, and I should. They are all about running, after all.

Second of all, I am just 7 weeks out from Twin Cities Marathon and still have not done any real long runs. This is the crappiest training I’ve pretty much ever done. The miles are there, but not in the way they should be.

In an effort to get it together, man, I’ve done a few doubles. My schedule and my husband’s schedule is so weird that I just can’t always get two and a half hours together to run. I mean, I could, if I got up at 4 a.m., but 4:45 is early enough, don’t you think?

Last week I ran 12 miles before work one day, and then 4 more at lunch, for 16 for the day. And counted it as my long run.

Yesterday, I ran 7.5 miles in the morning and then 7 more at lunch, for 14.5 for the day.

The good news is I ran both my runs yesterday at about marathon pace (my dream pace, ha) plus 10 seconds a mile. And felt totally fine and like I could keep going, even at the end of the second run.

That feels good. And I’ve had many weeks of 40+ miles, so that’s good, too.

But let’s see when I put it all together. I’ve tried to already start arranging some help to get long runs in through September, when our schedules are even nuttier. I’m hoping to at least get in one 18 or 20.

I’m trying to tell myself this isn’t my first time at this rodeo — I know what to expect, and with the training I’ve done, I’ve lowered my expectations accordingly. But what runner doesn’t stand at the starting line and dream a little?

We’ll see.

Happy running.

This entry was posted in Marathon, Running, Training, Twin Cities Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Doing doubles

  1. Danni says:

    I’m sure you’ll be fine.

  2. Laurel says:

    I have a 20 miler tomorrow morning. Want to join me? We are supposed to have 90% humidity and 40% change of thunderstorms. 🙂

Leave a Reply

