Currently reading “The Wave”

Howdy, friends.

This is what I’m obsessed with right now:

Here is a book review. I love books about weather, extreme sports and shipwrecks. So this book is ideal for me. I love anything about polar explorers, blizzards, people lost in the woods and all things Shackleton.

I recognize this is a little goofy. I don’t care. I love it. One of my favorite elements of the book “The Children’s Blizzard” was just plain old learning the history of the National Weather Service.

I have had a rough summer of reading. I just haven’t been able to get into anything lately, and returned two books, back to back, without finishing them. That’s something I usually do maybe once a year. So twice in one summer is odd.

Thankfully, this book has held my attention. I feel lost when I’m not engrossed in something.

Though I think a lot of it is just having a lot on my mind this summer. Maybe I’ve chosen “Mad Men” as my escapism instead. And, of course, the Olympics this week.

I wish when I was in school I could have learned about science and waves and oceanography and all that through books like this. I would have been about a billion times more interested in it — and understood it better. Maybe I’d have a science career now if that had been the case. Ah, probably not. I’d rather read about experiments than do them.

Happy running.

 

 

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

