More awful running photos

Howdy, friends.

I figured that headline would grab you. Who doesn’t love mocking others? Oh wait, nice people, that’s who.

So, when I ran Brookings a few weeks ago, I decided to wear one of my running skirts. I have a few, and they feel cute, but I always put them on, take them off, put them on, take them off, because I just feel like a dork in them. But I was like, oh the heck with it, I’m wearing it.

Perhaps that will be the last time.

Courtesy of allsportcentral. Kari (in white) and I (in black) with Erica.

Not terrible. And thank you Kristen for the arm warmers. It was chillier than I thought it was that morning.

Courtesy of allsportcentral.

The thing with arm warmers is I love them because I can tuck them into the back of my shirt when I get hot, so less annoying than something tied around my waist. What I hate? I look like I have on lame evening gloves. With my skirt. It’s all too cutesy and gross. But what’s even grosser is how bad that shirt I have on smells. It’s like 7 years old, and I need to throw it away. But man, I love the way it fits. SO comfortable. And it’s Speedo. I’ve never seen another Speedo running shirt. Do they even make them?

Courtesy of allsportcentral. Kari and I at the finish. I have run a lot of races with Kari. She always has some hidden energy she saves for the end.

So I don’t know that I’ll wear the skirt again. I just feel like a dork. Even though they are super comfy. I have a longer one that is really great for just playing with the kids in the summer because it feels a little nicer than the ratty old Columbia shorts I live in, but it has built-in bike shorts, so perfect for trips to the park, when you’re climbing up on the playground stuff, chasing after kids.

Running is going well. I have 18 weeks before Twin Cities, which will be my 9th marathon. I don’t really follow a training plan, except to ramp up the miles, starting, oh, now, and hang on.

After really taking some time off this spring after Phoenix, I am starting to feel like I’m in shape again. I’ve been able to put some longer runs back-to-back and am feeling great. Not speedy, but that doesn’t matter right now.

I feel really good that I can go run 10, 12 miles and not even have to think about it. I like to be at the point where I could go run a 15-miler at any given point, with no trouble. That’s about when I feel like I’m in the right place to work on a little speed.

And even though Twin Cities is a tough course, and I’ve never had a good race there (one reason I love it — all hills at the end, so no pressure to do well, just have fun), I am seriously thinking of trying to re-qualify for Boston in October.

I think we might be done having babies (more on that another day), so it’s a good time to try to really push myself running. I have no other races planned for the summer — two kids makes us too broke to register. I really wish I were running Swan Lake this weekend. It’s a great race. But that’s OK.

And I can’t believe this, but I’ve been searching for ultras, too. I’ve always wanted to do one, and just never had the time for it. But maybe now … .

For now, things are good. Ugly skirts and all.

Happy running.

This entry was posted in Boston Marathon, Marathon, Running, Twin Cities Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to More awful running photos

  1. At least it doesn’t look like you have a diaper on like I do every time I head out for a bike ride or teach class. I like those bike skorts, too, if only they didn’t always get stuck on my bike seat. Katharine has tons of great skorts that I absolutely love for her at this age. Yes. I’m jealous of my 3 year old’s wardrobe.

    I think it looked fine. The all black look is so goth, with the hint of bloody red. It’s like you mean business, and then… part way through, you take off your gloves. Watch out.

    Hey, it’s time some elegance and mystery entered the arena of marathoning. 🙂

  2. Jen says:

    Those pictures are fine! Honestly do running pictures ever look good? My eye caught the shirt the other girl in the last picture is wearing, my home half 🙂

  3. Danni says:

    Huh? The skirt looks cute. You are silly.

  4. Laurel says:

    Ha. My favorite summer running shirt smells so bad too, but I can’t get myself to get rid of it. It was the shirt I wore during my very first marathon and I just love the way it fits!

    Also, I am the same exact way about my running skirt. The only time it ever came in handy was when I took my weekly belly photos when I was pregnant.

    And finally, your hair is SO long now!

Leave a Reply

