Running update…

Howdy, friends.

I have barely been running. In fact, I think I’ve only run once in all of March. A few weeks ago, I had an eerily-familiar pain in my pubic ramus, so I immediately shut it all down.

I had had a bit of random pain, but nothing serious. But one day, as it happened before, I stood up from my desk and had a total “holy shit” moment, when I felt the familiar hitch and dull pain.

After Phoenix, I had vowed to take lots of time off. But you know how that goes — you finish a race on such a high,and I was in such good shape, and just felt invincible. Of course, none of us are. So I probably ran more than I should have.

I’m not convinced anything is cracked again (please, no), and I can’t really swing an MRI right now to make sure. But taking time off has stopped the pain, so I’m sticking with that for now. Good thing I signed up for the Brookings Half-Marathon in May, eh? Idiot.

Right now I’m doing spin class 2-3 times a week, and I’ve consistently been taking weights classes 2-3 times a week. So I haven’t been too dejected about not running. I’d rather take March off than June. But I’m also not convinced that things aren’t messed up, so I am thinking of not doing a fall marathon. That’s tough. I really love running Twin Cities, for a million reasons, not the least of which is it’s a great family trip for us. Hopefully it won’t close soon, and I can reassess in a few weeks.

We’ll see. Until then, I’m ignoring my scale, which is horrifyingly close to immediate post-partum numbers without high mileage to make up for my insane sweet tooth.

Happy running.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running update…

  1. Stefanie Schocke says:

    NO!!!! I hope this isn’t the case!!!!

    I am finally back running and it’s going well. But, I am obsessing over it! “What was the pain? Am I getting another fracture? Oh crap! I’m broken again!” What’s wrong with me? I can’t stop thinking about it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

