Currently reading …

Howdy, friends.

I was so late to the Stieg Larsson trilogy, but I am hooked now. I just finished the second book this weekend.

I admit that I was consumed with finishing this book. At one point on Sunday morning, I was reading this, and Philip was reading the newspaper, and both kids were playing contentedly in their toy kitchen. I whispered to Philip, as I took a sip of my still-hot coffee (a rare treat), “It’s like we’ve hit parenting nirvana!”

“Shh!” he hissed at me.

Of course, about 2 seconds later, Viv crawled over and the dog started pacing and then Jack was whining, and it was all normal again. But for a moment, oh the bliss! It’s hard to imagine a time when both kids won’t be so needy. I know it’s coming, and I’ll miss the feel of them crawling into my lap, but that’s tough to remember in the thick of it.

My goal this year has been to wade through the insane amount of books I’ve collected and haven’t read over the years, because my library books always come first. Believe it or not, I haven’t taken out a library book all year. It’s so sad, but I need to make a dent in my giant pile first. I’m a book hoarder.

So, next up is the Steve Jobs’ biography, which was a Christmas gift from a friend. Review here.

I’ll pick up the third Larsson book after this one. My goal is to finish both by the weekend. I have some time off work, and I consider reading to be something worthy of putting on my “to do” list.

Running is going very well. I had 39 miles last week, the most since the marathon in January. So this week is a bit of a cutback week, only because I didn’t want to be that close to 40 in February.

More on all that in a later post.

Happy running.

This entry was posted in Books, Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Currently reading …

  1. jumpingpolarbear says:

    I have only seen the movie and it was great. Stieg Larsson is awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

