Kid talk

Howdy, friends.

Sometimes I really can’t believe the things that come out of Jack’s mouth. Here are just a few that he shared with me yesterday.

Jack: I learned that from my husband.

Me: Oh yeah, what did you learn? And who is your husband?

Jack: My husband drives a dump truck!

Me: Really?

Jack: Yeah. He drives it to the dump.

I didn’t even know he got married. I hope he’s happy!

Then we were reading Richard Scarry’s “Busy, Busy Town,” one of his favorite books. And in it, Lowly the Worm drives an apple, like this:

Jack looked at it and said, “Ha ha, Lowly drives an apple. Jack drives an orange!”

I was dying.

I don’t know when Jack became a one-upper. It’s funny for a preschooler, but I hope he outgrows it, because it’s annoying as an adult. One day his little friend, who had just turned 4, told him, “I’m 4 now, and I know a lot about a lot of things!” Which, of course is true. Four is a big deal! But Jack replied, “Oh yeah? I know a lot about Old McDonald!”

Oh, Jack. You turkey.

In other news, I am so far behind in my library books that now the library is calling me that if I don’t return some, I have to buy them. Good lord. So I have been cramming in as much reading as possible. Right now I am almost done with “Maine,” by Courtney Sullivan. So far, so good. Here is a NY Times review.

And two photos, for good measure:

Happy running. More on that later.

 

This entry was posted in Books, Genevieve, Jack. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Kid talk

  1. Danni says:

    I love hearing the things that Jack says. Seriously if unintentionally hilarious.

  2. jeri says:

    I just finished maine a few days ago. It was better than I expected (I think the ratings on goodreads were in the lower 3s, and I gave it a 4). You kids are so stinkin’ adorable and Jack’s quips crack me up. I also learned the name of the worm due to you, so thanks for that.

    Are you doing brookings this spring? I’m planning to do it, and I know you’ve done it in the past, so just curious!

  3. MizMollyMae says:

    “I know a lot about Old McDonald.” Maybe he’s just being a smartass. 🙂

    I can’t wait to hear Katharine’s thoughts. Katharine is still not the clearest in speech…but things are much better now that we have her in Montessori. When I asked her how things went with the grandparents during our vacation, all I got was, “blah, blah, blah, nana, papa, blah, blah, no-no-no blah, no-no-no blah.” At least I get the jist that she was told “no-no-no” a lot.

    (Glad to see Katharine’s nearly new are getting used!)

Leave a Reply

