Bye-bye, boobies

Howdy, friends.

You know, you just kind of forget how breastfeeding trashes your body. I nursed Jack for 14 months. Then a few months after I stopped, I got pregnant with Genevieve. Which meant, yay, I had boobs (tiny ones) again. And I am talking, like 32A size boobs. Nothing crazy. But better than my normal 30AAA. And that is no joke.

So when I stopped nursing Genevieve, I was just not prepared for what my body would look like. I sort of remembered from Jack, but not really.

And what it looks like is this:

Sexay

Slap a nipple on that bad boy, and that’s what I look like. It’s bad enough that a coworker commented on it. It’s bad enough that I have on a size 32AA bra (yes, they make those — usually for 11-year-olds) and it is big on me. It’s sort of horrifying. You kind of get used to preggo boobs, then nursing boobs. It’s a rude awakening to go back to my pre-pubescent normal shape.

Yes, I look like a 14-year-old boy. With a “National Geographic” nipple stuck to me. I will never be able to wear a nonpadded bra again. Not because I want the extra padding, but because otherwise my headlights will frighten passers-by.

And it definitely makes choosing my running clothes a challenge. You know what looks bad? A baggy sports bra. Yet that is the look I will be sporting. Bye-bye self-confidence. Hello hunched shoulders.

All that said, I am still SO glad to be done breastfeeding. SO, so, so very glad. I’m sort of horrified by how happy I am about it. I don’t miss it. At all. I’m also not starving all the time anymore. It’s amazing how much energy you need to do it. You just don’t realize it while it’s happening. I even threw away all my pump extra parts, etc. And my ratty old nursing bras. If we have a third baby, I’ll just buy new ones. I used the same ones for Jack and Genevieve, and they were so trashed from being worn 24 hours a day for two solid years. I’m pretty sure I got my money’s worth from those cheap Target nursing bras.

I don’t have stretch marks or too many other post-partum body issues. So I guess the boob thing is as bad as it gets for me. Maybe a boob job is in my future. I’m pretty sure Philip would be all for it. After all, when I said I was stopping nursing, he said, “Bye-bye, boobies.”

In other random news: ALL my pubic ramus pain disappeared about a week after I stopped breastfeeding. What the hell? Maybe those hormones play a bigger part than I realized. I can’t lie — I am totally annoyed that I will be heading into this marathon in such shitty shape, thanks to breastfeeding. I know that is shallow, selfish and ridiculous, but it’s the truth.

Happy running.

This entry was posted in Genevieve, Jack, Kids, Nursing, Running, Stress fractures pubic ramus, Twin Cities Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bye-bye, boobies

  1. Jessica says:

    AT LEAST YOU CAN RUN.

    Just sayin.

    And I’m already loathing the idea of zero boobs. Sad.

  2. Laurel says:

    I saw my midwife today and she told me to take off my bra. I was like, “What bra? I haven’t worn one of those since I stopped nursing!”

  3. Jen says:

    This is part of the reason I continue to breastfeed, although it will be nice to not worry about big (okay B cup) boobs anymore! Very interesting about the pubic rami pain, I have that after longer runs, now I’m curious if it will fully go away when I stop breastfeeding since it has gotten a lot better as I wean

  4. So true! Once I started weaning and introducing formula- wow I felt soooo much better (pubic rami pain). I very rarely have pubic rami pain but other pelvic issues now. I think I am the only woman on this planet who wants to be flat as a board. I seriously wish I was a small A. I’m not big, only a B but hate hate hate boobs. Grass is always greener on the other side, huh?

Leave a Reply

