Books & Running

Howdy, friends.

I just finished an excellent book, “State of Wonder” by Ann Patchett. I could not put it down. Here is a review.

From annpatchett.com

The review talks briefly about Patchett’s nonfiction book, “Truth and Beauty,” which I loved. I would recommend reading that, and then following it with Lucy Grealy’s “Autobiography of a Face.” It’s fascinating to read about a friendship from two different sides.

In other book news, I have recently started reading the No Charge Book Bunch blog. And I am hooked. I blame this blog for the insane list of books I now have on hold at the library. There will never be enough time for me to read all the books I want to read. It’s depressing.

Speaking of books, Jack’s 3rd birthday is coming up. We are going to get him a Strider bike, and some books. I’m open to suggestion for good pre-school books.

In running news, things are going OK. I ran 15 easy on Sunday, and had about 35 for the week. I ended up with an extra day off by accident. This week, I need to be closer to 40 for sure, with a long run around 18 this weekend. Last night I dreamt I was running the marathon, but I started late and stopped in the middle to get my hair cut. I guess that shows how seriously (or not) I am taking my training this time around. I’ll get there, somehow.

Happy running.

 

This entry was posted in Books, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Books & Running

  1. jeri says:

    My last marathon dream had me stopping and shopping at little vendors set up along the course. 😛
    I have this book on my “to-read” list as well. Glad you enjoyed it. Might I suggest goodreads to you? It’s a great place to keep track of all the books you want to read (and have read). I know I let my library holds expire sometime and forget about what I wanted to read. My goodreads link: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/545324

  2. mirandagargasz says:

    My preschool students loved the following books:
    Any book by Eric Carle
    The Mitten by Jan Brett
    The Napping House by Don and Audrey Wood
    Goodnight Moon (I don’t remember who wrote it 😦 )
    Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats
    Peter’s Chair by Ezra Jack Keats
    Little Critter books
    Chicka-Chicka-Boom-Boom (forgot author)
    Click, Clack, Moo (forgot author)
    Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

