5K with a double jogger

Howdy, friends.

I recently won an entry into a local 5K. I haven’t “raced” a 5K since 2006, and I’m not really in shape to race one now. That’s a totally different kind of running than what I’ve been doing (slogging through, basically).

But, you know, free race entry. I couldn’t pass it up, so I decided to go up and run it. And I didn’t have a babysitter, so Jack and Genevieve had to come with me. And run with me. In the double jogger. On gravel. Uphill. Did I mention the gravel?

I set a goal to run sub 8:00s. Lofty, perhaps, but that would be easy without a jogger, and a challenge with one, so it seemed reasonable. I knew I wouldn’t be heartbroken if I couldn’t, though.

My friend Erica and her two girls joined us. I have to confess, I LOVE the looks we got as we did a warm-up mile with our joggers. People just look at you like you’re a rock star when you push that thing. It doesn’t matter how fast or slow you are going. I suppose we did look like lunatics.

Erica and her two girls, and me and my two kiddos.

The route was an out-and-back on gravel for just over 2 miles, and then around a city park to the finish. It was a pretty enough course and seemed pretty well-organized.

I’m sure people thought we were morons at the starting line. We lined up near the front of the middle, or the back of the front, if that makes sense. I know, I have a jogging stroller. But I am not jogging. Or walking. And it was on a wide road, so it’s not like I was going to be clipping people’s heels. And I refuse to waste time weaving around slowpokes because I’ve been runner-mommy-tracked with my giant beast of a stroller.

Then, of course, the wheel fell off my stroller right at the start. Good lord. Thank god Erica is a smarty and helped me get it back on. “Um, that should be tight enough?” she said, right about when the starter yelled, “Go!” I love a small-town race!

The first mile was a gradual uphill. On gravel. Did I mention the gravel part? It basically sucked. I felt like I was running fully extended pushing the stroller ahead of me. Jack was yelling, “Go, runners, go! Good job, runners!” I guess I’ve taken him to enough races now where he knows what to do.

I hit the first mile in 8:19. Thank god for the turnaround, and a bit of downhill, and mile 2 was in 7:49. Now we’re talking. I passed a few people here and figured I was about third woman overall. That’s the great thing about an out-and-back. You can see where you place. Mile 3 felt endless, which I found out was because it was. The course measured 3.3 miles, and even the winners said it was long (I include that so you don’t think I am just bitching about running with the stroller).

I finished in 26:35, which is 8:05 for 3.3 miles. I fell short of my goal, but that’s OK. I felt like I gave it a solid effort. I am pretty sure I was third place woman overall, but haven’t found any results anywhere yet. It was a lot of fun. I definitely got a few “Oh my god, that’s wild” comments out there pushing the stroller. I won’t lie — it was a huge ego boost. I kept trying to reel in the woman ahead of me, but I could never quite gain on her. I would try, then give up, then try, then give up. Even if I had tried harder, I’m not sure I could have caught her.

The finish was in a great little city park, so Jack got to run around while Genevieve took it all in from the stroller. That’s a great way to end any race. Well, that and a trip out for breakfast, which we also did.

In other news, we spent a recent weekend visiting family, and I did a huge camera dump. Here are some recent photos:

Jack checks out the dinosaurs at the Children's Museum in Brookings, SD.

I practice using "natural light," so my friend Laurel will be proud of me. Here is Genevieve at her grandparents'.

That’s about all here. I decided against getting my 3D bone scan right now. I’m having major supply issues, and I just am not ready to pump and dump for 48 hours afterward. Hopefully some easy running can keep my pubic ramus pain in check. I did run 10 easy on Sunday, for 35 total for the week last week, and feel great. I took Monday off and then ran 7.5 easy this morning. So far, so good.

Happy running.

This entry was posted in Brookings, Genevieve, Injury, Jack, Laurie, Nursing, Running, Stress fractures pubic ramus. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5K with a double jogger

  1. SHE IS ADORABLE!!!!! So is Jack, but I just love that picture!

  2. Dixie says:

    Jacqueline you are simply amazing!! actually RUNNING with a DOUBLE STROLLER on GRAVEL! and a nursing mom to top it off–where do you get your energy? and, did i say–simply amazing?!! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

