Supply issues

Howdy, friends.

After all my “Yay, breastfeeding!” posts, I am struggling again. Genevieve is almost 8 months old — big girl! — and my supply is dipping. This happened with Jack, too, around this time. I thought with him it was because I was running so much. I’m not as much right now (about 35 miles a week), so I didn’t think that would contribute.

I don’t know. It’s frustrating. The other day she drank 17 ounces at daycare. That’s a lot! I only pumped about 8 that day. I usually get around 12 or so, maybe 15, in 3 pumps. But lately, I’m getting nothing at my middle pump, and only 1-2 ounces at my third pump. The freezer stash is really dwindling.

I guess I could add another pumping session, but my god, I already spend an hour of every day making sweet love to my Medela. I just can’t do it any more than that. Then I think, nice, my laziness is going to mean I have to start using formula. I’m not opposed to it, but we really can’t afford it. Plus, you know how it goes — supply and demand.

Next week, I am scheduled to have a 3D bone scan, and a dye injection, to check about the pubic ramus issues I’ve had. That means 48 hours of pump-and-dump, which I’m sure will hurt supply even more. I might hold off on that appointment, though it would be good to know why I still have some pain.

We recently went out of town, and I thought four straight days with the baby would boost supply, but it didn’t seem to matter. I was even grateful for her two recent ear infections, since it meant frequent middle-of-the-night nursing sessions. “Yeah, make more milk,” I thought, bleary eyed at 3 a.m.

But no.

I probably shouldn’t panic quite yet. I still have about 100 frozen ounces. She’s eating solid foods, so I could give her more of that at daycare, so she isn’t guzzling 20 ounces of milk there.

And I have a friend with a huge freezer stash she isn’t using, who offered it. What do you think? I would use it. I need to ask my husband, though. He might think it’s odd. I don’t. I would nurse someone else’s baby, you know? Maybe I’m just a hippie at heart. Or cheap.

So, that’s where I am on that. I did have to supplement with some formula for Jack when he was about 11 months old. I really beat myself up about it. I told myself I wouldn’t be so negative if it happened again, but I am feeling like a failure, anyway. And, to be honest, annoyed because I love how I can eat like a pig while breastfeeding and not gain weight. I’m not looking forward to eating reasonable portions again! Maybe I”ll add that fourth pump after all … .

In other news, I’m running a 5K on Saturday. I won free entry, and don’t have a babysitter. So, I will be the woman pushing the double jogger. Honestly? I’m hoping to run sub 8:00-minute miles. I think that’s a pretty reasonable goal. It’s not fast, but not slow, either. And I’ve never raced with a double jogger. On gravel. I’m kind of glad I have to have the kiddos with me — I haven’t “raced” a 5K since like 2006 (21:18), and not sure I want to. So hiding behind the jogger is a good way to … hide. I’ll follow it up with a 15-miler on Sunday.

Happy running.

This entry was posted in Genevieve, Injury, Jack, Kids, Nursing, Running, Stress fractures pubic ramus. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Supply issues

  1. Oh so much to say here. I’m having supply issues, too! I don’t even work and I can nurse whenever. I started having supply issues with my son somewhere between 6-9 months. He was almost 16.5lbs at his 6 month check-up, didn’t gain an ounce for 3 months, then at his year was about 19lbs. So either it was a supply issue or my son was just built that way. (He’s still very slender but was obviously a big boy at 6 months!). This time- supply issues at 4 months!

    It’s definitely a supply/demand thing. You know? I mean, I should just nurse her more, right? Well she gets so upset and screams. So I caved, gave her a bottle. But…then that doesn’t help my supply. I feel like a failure, too. I would/have never judged a woman for formula feeding. I actually went to a store far away so I wouldn’t run into anyone I know to buy formula. I’ve never bought it. It was hard. I cried and told her I still loved her. Pathetic, right?! But here is the good news. My horrible bone pain is feeling so much better since doing half breastfeeding/half nursing. I seriously feel like a new person. But a failure as a mother. I also noticed she started sleeping better at night. (Formula feeding moms told me it’s the same as breastfeeding- but she is sleeping better. Maybe it’s just coincidence). I can’t decide what to do. I’m not completely quitting. I want to keep nursing so I can change my mind and up my supply (is that possible?). Anyways, all that to say…don’t be too hard on yourself. You are a great mom!

    You’ll have to let me know about the bone scan. We’ve discussed this as a possibility for me. Not sure yet I want to do it….ugh. Such a hard decision. I understand why you are- you are going on almost 2 years of pain. I did find out I have lone bone mass so we are looking into nutritional/hormonal causes of that.

    Good luck on the 5k. Racing a 5k with a double jogger sub 8 min miles is impressive. I really suck at 5ks, so try to avoid them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

