Marathon training

Howdy, friends.

I figured I should post a bit about running, since this is a running blog, after all. I’m not sure how many weeks out from Twin Cities I am, but I feel like it is creeping up on me. I have been feeling a bit creaky in my pubic ramus bones, so my goal for June was to run all easy miles, keep up the cross-training and hope for the best. I keep telling myself I would rather be undertrained and uninjured than hurt.

I took it really easy after the Brookings Half-Marathon in May, and am just now coming back up. I ran about 35 miles last week, with a long run of 13. I am taking this week as a down week (no long run) and then will do 15 next weekend. That’s sort of my plan — run long every other week. It’s not really ideal, but I think it’s the safest way for me to be smart. I don’t follow any particular training plan because my schedule is too crazy, so this is all sort of made-up.

I like to get in a fast run, a long run and a mid-week mid-distance run at least every week, with easy running and weightlifting around it. This week was a little goofy because I got caught in a lightning storm one day and then other days things just didn’t quite work out schedule-wise.

But so far, I have:

Monday: 6.2 miles

Tuesday: 3 miles + lightning storm = short run, with a sprint home

Wednesday: 5.1 miles, with the second half speedy

Thursday: About 4.5 miles, lunges, and other physical therapy hip/butt strengthening exercises

This morning, I decided to throw the kids in the stroller and run them to daycare, and then finish my run before work. This was us leaving the house:

Jack is super cool in his sunglasses. Genevieve is just cute. And I look like crap, as usual.

Are you digging my 1998 Chevy Cavalier in the background? Yeah, baby! Philip and I are going to drive that car right into the ground.

Anyway. It was a fun way to start the day. I think the kids enjoyed it! Pushing that stroller is a beast, though, and I mean that in a good way. It’s actually not that bad, and I admit I love the “sweet Jesus” looks I get when people see me with it. I also love what a crisp morning it was that I had to bundle the kids up a bit.

So, I probably won’t run long this weekend. I think that’s good. I hope to do some core work tonight or tomorrow — I meant to last night, but I couldn’t figure out this Netflix video we had, so I pouted. Philip told me I was being a baby, and he was right. I just went to bed instead and read. (I’m reading “Never Let Me Go” by Kazuo Ishiguro.)

I need to make more time for lifting — I was lifting twice a week, and need to return to that. I just didn’t make time for it this week, and I know it is helping.

My hip, which was a mess about two weeks ago, feels totally fine now. I have no idea what was going on with that. But it doesn’t even remotely hurt anymore. My left pubic ramus, however, is a bit cranky. I am seeing the sports doctor tomorrow, so we’ll see what he says.

That’s about it. It’s been a good week. It started out rough — Genevieve had an ear infection last week that antibiotics weren’t helping, so she was up a lot this weekend, like every two hours. On Tuesday, I took her back in, and she got another antibiotic. She is doing great now and has slept through the night the past few nights. My big girl.

Jack has been wearing underpants most of the week. I am so proud of him. He still has accidents, but it’s sort of working. I need to do an entire separate post on potty-training.

That’s about it. Happy running.

This entry was posted in Genevieve, Injury, Jack, Potty Training, Running, Stress fractures pubic ramus, Twin Cities Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Marathon training

  1. Love love love the picture. You all look great! 🙂

    Sorry your fracture isn’t feeling awesome…but glad it’s letting you run!

  2. Erica says:

    Love the picture! Go mama go! You look awesome!!

Leave a Reply

