“Read Fire Station?”

Howdy, friends.

One of my favorite things about having kids is story time. I love to read. I always have. My sister Pam taught me to read when I was 3, and I’ve been obsessed ever since. I probably read at least a book a week. I wish I would have kept a list of all the books I’ve read. I’ve only kept one for the past 2 years or so. Which is unfortunate, because I have a horrible memory.

I was an English major in college, and I remember a classmate saying he loved college because “when else will you have time to just read like this?” And that is so true. I loved it. And that’s maybe why I love my job — I get paid to read all day.

So it has been wonderful to share children’s books with Jack, and now Genevieve. Jack definitely has the book bug. We have baskets of books all over the house, and a big bookshelf in his room. We signed both kids up for the Dolly Parton Imagination Library, and have found great authors through that. Plus the many books we’ve bought or been given as gifts.

Jack definitely gets obsessed with a certain book for a while. I think we have read “Goodnight Gorilla” about 200 times. And “Good Dog, Carl.” And this silly Elmo book my sister sent us. Oh, and “Bear Snores On,” which my sister Kim suggested, and I love (the writing is seriously fabulous). But now he is able to sit still for longer stories. The latest obsession?

What will Michael and Sheila think of next?

We read this book every single night. More than once. And he just loves it. We have two other books by Robert Munsch, but Jack isn’t interested in them yet. I keep pushing them, though, because I am a little sick of Sheila’s antics. And Michael needs to grow a backbone.

Some of our other favorites in the past few months:

My favorite part is where baby llama "starts boo-hooing."

And I just can’t get enough of this book, though Jack is sick of it.

The goat jumped over the fence, of course.

And this one, which came as one of the Dolly Parton books:

I hope our kids love to read as much as I do. And I really can’t wait until they are reading chapter books, or some of my childhood favorites. There’s nothing better than watching Jack go over to his bookshelf or baskets and dig through until he finds just what he wants. He comes over and says, “Read it?” And plops down in my lap. And I am always happy to stop whatever I’m doing and say, “I would love to read that, bubby.”

And we do.

Happy running.

This entry was posted in Books, Genevieve, Jack. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Read Fire Station?”

  1. Laurel says:

    We got a lot of these books sent to us from a very good friend of ours. 🙂
    We also have Llama, Llama Red Pajama, but it’s too much for Quinny right now.

Leave a Reply

