Seeking advice

Howdy, friends.

I need some advice. We have been working on potty training Jack (and by “we,” I mean daycare has done the lion’s share of the work and we sort of do it at home). He doesn’t tell us when he is wet, but sometimes he tells us when he has to go, and he will go on the potty.

I tell you this because I want to be clear: Jack will sit in a dirty/wet diaper all the livelong day and not really care. Truly. He’s always been like that. Not that we leave him in them, but you know, he really doesn’t care.

But lately he has been obsessed with getting naked. He now wants to get naked every nap and bedtime. At first, he couldn’t get off full-zip, footie pajamas. Now? They’re off in seconds.

Then he couldn’t manage to get a pull-up off. Now? No problem. Even that poopy one the other day (thanks, son!).

So, after literally getting him dressed over and over again one night for over an hour — like every 5 minutes going in and putting his diaper and pajamas back on — I decided, screw it, and let him sleep naked.

Of course, he peed all over his bed. He didn’t even care, just moved to a dry spot. But he was pretty upset when I had to throw all his blankies, stuffed animals and pillow down the laundry chute to be washed. It’s tough to explain to a 2.5-year-old the consequences of sleeping naked.

Here are the things friends have suggested:

1. Duct tape on his diaper.

2. Putting his pajamas on backwards.

3. A sleepsack, worn backwards.

They all seem like good ideas. We also tried putting him in a onesie, but he cried and cried because he couldn’t get it off.

One friend told me, so let him sleep naked, who cares? Well, I care when he poops, or pees, all over everything. Then I thought, buddy, if you want to sleep in your own piss, go ahead. You made your bed. Literally.

But that seems a little mean. Plus, he didn’t seem to care, so it didn’t work to deter him.

Another friend said, “You are the boss of him, make him wear his diaper!” I totally agree with that. I guess I am lazy. I feel like what she really said was, “Hey, honey, time to start parenting!” In a nice way, of course. And she would be right.

Then I wonder — is this the time to say, OK, let’s get on board with the potty training (which is going pretty well), convert to a toddler bed and teach him to get out of bed and go potty in the middle of the night.

Hello, panic. I am not ready for that. I don’t know if Jack is ready for that.

What would you do?

In running news: Keeping mileage around 35 miles a week for now, not feeling any signs of injury after getting some new running shoes, and feeling a bit of speed here and there. I can’t complain and am enjoying base-building and hopeful for a great late summer/fall racing season.

Happy running.

This entry was posted in Jack, Kids, Potty Training, Running, Training. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seeking advice

  1. Danni says:

    I have no sweet clue but good luck. I owe you an email. I have been lazy about temping.

  2. Oooh, that’s tough. I have friends who let their kids go naked, but yah, do you want the mess?! I just remember trying to potty train, Daniel wasn’t ready, trying again in a month or two and it was a breeze. As far as the sleeping thing…hmm.

Leave a Reply

