Large print books

Howdy, friends.

Every once in a while, I go a little nutso with the online library catalog and reserve a ton of books. It seems like they all come in at once, too. Which, of course, means I need to hustle through them to get them returned on time (or renew them a billion times online, or, let’s face it, just pay my giant late fees).

I’m pretty caught up on books for my book club, so I reserved a bunch that I’ve wanted to read for a while, as well as a few potential book club choices. And I still had two on my nightstand to finish and then the stack of about 15 that I’ve been meaning to get to for a few years. I have a bad habit of being a nerd, I guess.

Right now I am reading “Snow Flower and the Secret Fan” by Lisa See.

I’ve read “Peony in Love” by the same author, but kept missing this one. When I reserved it, I wasn’t really paying attention and got the Large Print edition.

Friends, I must be getting old, because I am LOVING the bigger type. I mean, really loving it. Like, maybe I will reserve more Large Print issues. I am pretty blind, and have worn glasses since I was about 6. My husband has awful eyes, too. Poor Jack and Genevieve. They probably can barely see 5 feet in front of them (and will need braces, too). Ah, nerdy kids. Sorry, dorks!

So far, the book is pretty good. I started a list of the books I’m reading about 2 years ago, and I think I’ll add a page for that on here, too. I always love to see what others are reading, so maybe you do, too.

After this is “The Gendarme,” I think.

As for running, I only did a long run of 10 this week and had about 30 miles total. I had some pain in my left pubic ramus, so I took Sunday-Tuesday off running. I lifted on Tuesday instead. Today I got out for just over 6 miles and feel fine. I think I’ll keep this week low mileage-wise, too, and keep my long run around 12. I am still not signed up for the Brookings Marathon, so I don’t feel a lot of pressure to get to the starting line. I can always do the half, or not race at all this spring. I’m OK with any of those options. I just want to be out there running, pain-free.

Happy running.

 

This entry was posted in Books, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Large print books

  1. Laurel says:

    Your poor nerd-herd.

Leave a Reply

