Bye-bye delicious food

Howdy, friends.

I had Genevieve’s 4-month appointment today. My big girl. She’s growing like a weed, and doing just fine. Except the whole horrible gassy nightmare that has turned our bedtime routine into hell on earth.

It’s full of arching, screaming, crying, refusing to nurse, crying to nurse, more screaming, and the loudest toots you’ve ever heard come out of something so small.

It's pretty funny what comes up when you Google "fart cartoon."

The pediatrician thinks she might have reflux, which would explain a lot. I thought she was just a lunatic nurser — she writhes around, insists on basically sitting on my lap to nurse, which, you know, is AWKWARD with an infant. It’s not like I’m nursing a preschooler here. Sometimes she makes me stand up to nurse her, so she’s basically hanging off me like a weird little monkey, clawing my love handles with her other hand while I walk around and bounce her and pat her butt over and over and over and over and JESUS, BABY. Ugh. It’s been making me really hate nursing — and I loved it when I nursed my son.

I hope that we can get her reflux under control, and nursing won’t be such a psycho song and dance, you know? I was pretty much at the end of my rope the other night. I am feeling better today, and decided I will stick it out through March and then reassess. I made it 14 months with Jack, and hope I can do the same this time around.

I understand all the reasons to breastfeed, but let’s be honest. My reasons are, in no particular order: It’s free. I’m lazy. I can eat like a pig while I do it. And I get a bizarro sense of satisfaction seeing how much milk I can freeze. Last time, I had so much that when we finally went through it all, I found a frozen turkey in the deep freeze!

A turkey is a funny bird. His head goes wobble wobble. All he knows is just one word, "Gobble gobble gobble."

So, I also was told to cut all dairy from my diet, to see if that helps. My son has a milk allergy, and maybe Genevieve does, too. I had to cut dairy with him, too. It pretty much blows. There is no good food that doesn’t have cheese on it. I gave up milk in the first few weeks with her — and ice cream, wah — but now I’m going to cut cheese and yogurt. Which, you know, is pretty much what I live on. And I hate soy yogurt and soy cheese, so those are out. I can’t even stomach soy milk. Gross.

The ONLY good soy product I have found is Soy Dream Butter Pecan ice cream and Tofutti sour cream, which tastes pretty close to real sour cream.

We’ll see how it goes. In preparation, I chowed on dairy all day today. I don’t know why. I am the one who will pay tonight when the baby is a nightmare to deal with. Good thing she’s so stinkin’ cute.

That’s about all here. Running for Brookings is going well. I put in 13.5 on Saturday in below-zero temperatures, on hills and snowy roads. It was a great run, though. I really love winter running. I think part of it is I love my ridiculous amount of running gear (thank you, Philip, for buying me awesome gear for every holiday!). Right where I want to be for March, so that’s good.

Happy running. And happy 4 months, my big girl.

This entry was posted in Kids, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bye-bye delicious food

  1. Laurel says:

    Dear Viv,
    Quit tooting so your mommy can eat ice cream, cheese fries and sleep.
    Love, your pal,
    Quinn.

  2. jeri says:

    I’m lactose intolerant, so I *try* to stay away from dairy, but who am I kidding, I fail miserably at it. I do adore almond milk though with my cereal, and there’s some rice ice cream that’s good but $$$$$. 😦

    • Jeri, thanks for the tips! Jack has a true milk allergy, which is different from a lactose intolerance (I am just learning about this stuff).

      I love all things dairy, so this is tough. When I cut it out when I was nursing him, it was depressing! Thanks for the almond milk tip!

  3. Dixie says:

    make sure you’re taking a calcium supplement. nursing a baby and running those long miles are a drain on your bones even when you are getting your dairy.

Leave a Reply

