Starting line

Howdy, friends.

I woke up this morning to an email saying I had successfully been registered for the Twin Cities Marathon.

Better start training, fatty.

Thank you, Philip, for signing me up! I am excited. I last ran Twin Cities in 2007. In 2008, I had a baby instead. In 2009, I had to DNS for stress fractures. In 2010, another baby. So, 2011 it is. I have always run pretty poorly in Twin Cities (ran it in 2005 and 2007), but that’s OK. It’s a beautiful course, and we have family there, so yay, free babysitting!

I also found out today that my 2009 marathon time (3:44 in Fargo, and a Boston Qualifier) and half-marathon time (1:42, in Swan Lake) still count to get me into Wave 1. That makes me stupidly excited that I won’t have to start with the fat, slow masses. Just kidding. I will be in such crap shape that I will be at the back of Wave 1, anyway. And last time I was in Wave 1, I was in SUCH bad shape (it was after a summer of miscarriages, and the race was just a way to keep myself busy), that I started at the very back of the corral and basically ran by myself until Wave 2 caught and passed me.

Hopefully this year will be better. Either way, I am really excited to be even thinking about marathoning again. Oh, and did I mention I might do Brookings Marathon in May? Still working on that idea … .

Here’s a little photo of me qualifying for Boston, baby. Because I live in the past …

Kari Voss and I running through Fargo. (I'm in the green.)

And one more, pre-race.

I love that shirt.

Happy running.

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Starting line

  1. Danni says:

    You rock!!!

Leave a Reply

