Currently reading: “The Dog Stars” by Peter Heller

Howdy, friends.

I’ve been mowing through books lately, which always happens during a race taper for me. Suddenly I have all this free time, and I don’t fall asleep at 8:15 p.m. because I’ve been up since 4:15 a.m.

It’s kind of awesome.

My friend Joan and I share book suggestions, and that means I went on a library bender recently. I took out several books she recommended. Some of them as possibilities for the book club we’ve run together for nearly eight years (eight years!). Some of them just because.

Here’s one she suggested:

arcadia

I made it about 20 pages in. I don’t know. Maybe I’ll try again another time, but now wasn’t the right time for this book. I couldn’t get into the writing. Though looking at a few reviews (I rarely read book reviews before I read a book), maybe I shouldn’t have dropped it off at the library this morning.

This review in the New York Times talks about the “raw beauty” of the writing. Now I feel bad. And here‘s another from NPR. Maybe I’ll try again. I do love communes. And it reminded me of college. Kind of.

So, then I picked this up:

dogstars

Here is the author’s web site.

And here is a review from NPR.

My husband picked it up at home and read it in a few days — very unusual for him. He reads a lot of magazines and essays and news stories, but very few novels. But when he does, he devours them. So that tells me it’s pretty good. Here’s a summary:

Hig somehow survived the flu pandemic that killed everyone he knows. Now his wife is gone, his friends are dead, and he lives in the hangar of a small abandoned airport with his dog, Jasper, and a mercurial, gun-toting misanthrope named Bangley.

But when a random transmission beams through the radio of his 1956 Cessna, the voice ignites a hope deep inside him that a better life exists outside their tightly controlled perimeter. Risking everything, he flies past his point of no return and follows its static-broken trail, only to find something that is both better and worse than anything he could ever hope for.

Not only do I love commune kind of stuff, but I really love post-apocalyptic stuff. Do those two even go together? I don’t know.

I’ll start it tonight.

Happy reading.

 

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Currently reading: “The Dog Stars” by Peter Heller

  1. jeri says:

    I really liked dog stars! It’s one that I recommended to Kyle as well, it kind of appeals to the survivalist in the end of world scenario. I couldn’t finish Arcadia. So let me know if you pick it back up and it’s worth it…. It was just… so weird. And didn’t really go anywhere in the 100 pages I read…

Leave a Reply

