Currently reading: “Unorthodox” by Deborah Feldman

Howdy, friends.

I ran through my list of saved books on GoodReads last week, and dug out a few I had noted I wanted to read. The library had this one:

UnorthodoxCover

Here is the author’s website.

And a review from The Jewish Week.

And another article from the New York Post.

One of the bajillion literary theory classes I took in college was on Jewish American women authors. I sure wish when I took that I had read as much as I have now, and had a better understanding of history. I should go back and read some of those books … they were great then and I bet I would love them even more now. One of my favorites was a short story by Tillie Olsen called “I Stand Here Ironing.” I still think about that. And “Onionskin” by Allegra Goodman.

Except who has time to reread anything with all the books waiting for us?

Anyway. I’m rambling.

Happy reading.

 

 

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

