Currently reading: “The Round House” by Louise Erdrich

Howdy, friends.

I am just over halfway through this:

Roundhouse

It’s only the third book I’ve read by Louise Erdrich. I love it. Truly love it. Her writing makes me wish I had been a novelist. That I could write well enough to be one (and had enough of a story idea …).

Here is a review from the New York Times.

And here is one from the National Book Foundation.

And here is an excerpt from the first few pages, after a woman is found by her son and husband, and they are rushing her to the hospital:

I was holding my mother tightly now in the backseat of the car. Her blood was on me. I reached onto the back window ledge and pulled down the old plaid quilt we kept there. She was shaking so bad I was scared she would fly apart.

Hurry, Dad.

All right, he said.

And then we flew there. He had the car up past ninety. We just flew.

It’s pretty awesome. I keep reading it over and over, and sometimes with her writing in general, I find myself paying just as much attention to the language as the story. It’s that beautiful.

I don’t understand people who don’t read. What do they DO with all their time?

Happy reading.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Currently reading: “The Round House” by Louise Erdrich

  1. Kim says:

    One of Tate’s favorite books he has read is Louise Erdrich’s Birchbark House…good taste!

Leave a Reply

