Currently reading: “Sharp Objects” by Gillian Flynn

Howdy, friends.

This is what I’m reading now:

Sharp

Here is a review from USA Today.

I love to read an author’s first novel, and this is Flynn’s. I read “Gone Girl” earlier this year and loved it … right up until the very end. This book has already completely sucked me in — I know it’s a good book when I wake up early on the days I’m not running at the crack of dawn and just read instead. I love those quiet early hours. And the entire pot of coffee I usually drink sitting there.

I’m about 100 pages in, and I’m loving it. Flynn is a writer for Entertainment Weekly (here is her very funny profile of herself), so the only surprise I have is that the main character, a journalist, uses words like “puff piece.” In 16 years as a journalist, I don’t think I’ve ever heard someone say that. “Evergreen”, “profile”, “feature” and “bright”, maybe, but never puff piece. Maybe we aren’t doing enough puff pieces??

Happy reading.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Currently reading: “Sharp Objects” by Gillian Flynn

  1. DoingDewey says:

    I love reading in the morning too! Although it can sometimes make it hard to start working on days I work at home. Some books are just too hard to put down :)

Leave a Reply

