Currently reading: “In the Kingdom of Men”

Howdy, friends.

I thought I’d take a break from Boston-related stuff to return to my other love, reading. Is this where I confess that I had my library book in my drop bag for the marathon? I had a friend tease me about it, but the truth is reading is so relaxing to me, and I can read anywhere. I thought I might have time on that long bus ride to just lose myself in a good book. Instead, I ended up chatting with a fellow runner the whole time.

Here’s the book I brought, and finished on our vacation:

Heft

And here is a review. It’s about an overweight, housebound man and his longstanding pen pal relationship with a former student — and where that leads. It was wonderful. I especially loved how consistent the writing was for each character.

I decided to try to mow through the ridiculous pile of books on my nightstand by reading one book I already own between every library book. So, this is what I picked up next:

kingdom

Here is a review. I’m about 150 pages in and really like it. It feels a bit cliche, but that’s OK. It’s still a good, quick story.  The review says some of the parallel story in here is trite, and I can see that already. But I’ll finish it anyway.

Happy reading.

 

 

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

