Monster month

Howdy, friends.

I’m about 6.5 weeks out from the Boston Marathon. This is about the time in marathon training when you log huge weeks of mileage, when you’re feeling like finally you are in race shape, and when you sacrifice sleep every day for a few more miles.

When you wake up and face 9 miles before work, then 20 the next day, then 5 the day after that. When you consider doing doubles to get the mileage in. When you mow through shoes and wake up at 3 a.m. to drink more water.

I would really love to be in that place right now.

But I’m not. Instead I am still dancing on the edge of a pelvic injury and trying to be both conservative in my running and aggressive in my cross-training, with the hopes of standing at the starting line on April 15.

I bet on the quality of my cross-training on Monday, when I spent $1,800 to fly our family out for the race. My sisters and their husbands and their children are all flying out. My dad and stepmom are flying out. For the first time in at least 5 years, we will all be together. No matter what happens on the race course, the trip will be worth it.

At the same time, I don’t want to be a moron.

I ran for the first time in a month on Monday — 5 very, very slow miles before work. Everything felt fine. No pain. It was really difficult to not grab my running shoes again on Tuesday. But I told myself I would not run two days in a row — a tough promise from someone who usually runs 5-6 days a week.

Instead, I got in the pool after that run and swam a half mile. On Tuesday, I swam a full mile nonstop before work, then lifted weights for 45 minutes at lunch. Today, I’ll take a 45-minute spin class. I brought my running shoes … maybe I’ll try for a few easy miles before the class. Maybe not.

My goal is to run 3 days a week, focusing on a long run — which will be 10 this week. I hope to bump up 2 miles every weekend, and try to at least get an 18 in before the race.

This isn’t where I wanted to be. I wanted to log a few 20s and a 22-miler this time. I wanted to push over 60 miles a week for the first time since 2009. I wanted to kill it in Boston.

But more than that, I want to be able to run for the rest of the summer, and the rest of my life. That’s what I tell myself every day, when I want to think short-term and run until everything cracks, just because I need the stress-release of lots of miles.

I’m trying to enjoy the pool. I already love spin, and I teach it a few times a month, which is a fun challenge. I do push-ups and pull-ups and sit-ups and lunges and planks, my god, the planks.

I stopped drinking wine during the week, hoping to drop the weight that crept on when the miles went down. I stress-eat apples and celery nonstop at work, the satisfying crunch helping me get through the day.

No matter what happens along the course in April, I’m going to have a great time. I can’t wait to see my entire family. I can’t wait for the kids to play with their cousins all week. And I can’t wait to finally get my Boston Marathon shirt. Who cares how long it takes me.

In other news, I was chosen to blog about my training here. How fun is that?

Happy running.

This entry was posted in Boston Marathon, Injury, Marathon, Running, Stress fractures pubic ramus, Swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monster month

  1. msmidt says:

    Sounds like you are taking a smart approach to your training. Good luck. Meanwhile, continue to post links to your submissions for your training blog!

Leave a Reply

