Cross-training my way to Boston

Howdy, friends.

It doesn’t seem like time off is doing much to help with my injury — but it isn’t getting worse, so that’s good right?

I’m doing everything I can to try to train without aggravating it. The good news is it is forcing me to do some new things and I’ll probably end up in better shape overall — if not better running shape.

Today I have already logged:

- 5 easy treadmill miles

- Pool workout: 100 easy, 4×25 kickboard, 100 easy, 2×25 pull-buoy, 100 easy, 2×25 pull-buoy, 100 easy cooldown. (I like saying “easy” like I swim any other way.)

- 274 push-ups.

Tonight Philip and I take our “test” to start the pull-up challenge. I hope I can do even one after all this today.

Beyond all that, this week looks like this:

Mon: 5 easy miles

Tues: Swim, 260 push-ups

Wed: Taught a spin class

Thurs: 5 easy, swim workout, 274 push-ups, plan to do pull-ups tonight (maybe I should say pull-up, singular?)

Fri: Plan is to run 7-10 miles in the morning, and I teach a spin class at noon

Sat: Plan is weights, push-ups, pool run or swim workout

Sun: Rest, plus pull-ups

I feel like I am triathlon training again. The variety has been fun, so I’ll focus on that instead of all the miles I’m not running.

Happy running, spinning and swimming.

This entry was posted in Boston Marathon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cross-training my way to Boston

  1. Dave Graves says:

    How do you do 274 pushy-ups?

    • In sets. I follow the 100-push-up challenge. It’s a program (I use the iphone app) that eventually gets you able to do 100 at once. I did it one other time and got to 89 at once. Right now, I can do 74 at once. But three days a week, you follow the plan, and that was the plan today. It adds up fast! I’ve done 2,600 just since I started it a few weeks ago.

  2. Patrick says:

    Tri-Tri-Tri-Tri-Tri-Tri

Leave a Reply

