In the pool

Howdy, friends.

After whining all day yesterday, I decided to go out last night and buy a new swimsuit for pool running. The last time I bought one was 2006. I don’t need to tell you how saggy, baggy, horrible that black Tyr suit is now. It’s so bad that I have to wear a running tank top over it because once it gets wet, it just hangs in a really, REALLY unattractive way.

And you don’t need any help looking horrible in a bathing suit in January. Trust me.

I had a gift card to the sporting goods store, so I bought this bad boy:

photo[3]

Let’s just pause for a moment and talk about one-piece bathing suits. I generally wear a two-piece. Not because I have some killer abs I need to show off, but because I am so … um, petite, on top that a one-piece just looks dumb. Your ribs shouldn’t stick out more than your boobs. It feels like a two-piece generally breaks up the monotony that is my upper body.

But I’ve been taking the kids swimming at the gym pool on the weekends, and my summer outdoor two-pieces look stupid — hello Hawaiian flowered bikini in January. And my lap-swimming suit was too old to wear. So I’ve been wearing my bikini with running clothes over it, which looks as stupid as it sounds.

So, I went with the one-piece, thinking it would be better for taking the kids, and a good replacement for my old, shredded Tyr suit.

I liked the way it fit, and the pattern took away a bit from the 30AAA area that is my chest (seriously, those are real measurements). I am a baby bird.

But I tried on several suits, including a really nice Nike one that was flattering. Until I saw the back of it in the mirror — there was a strap that goes across your back. Which I think was supposed to be tight. But on me, because nothing in front pushed the suit out, it just hung, in a sad, depressing slack loop off my back.

Sigh.

Yesterday I wrote about my pelvis. Today, my chest.

It’s all quality blogging here, friends.

See you in the pool. (I’ll be the nerd pool running.)

This entry was posted in Injury, Pool running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the pool

  1. I like the TYRs. But the last one I purchased was a… polyester (?) one. It’s supposed to last longer than the lycra in the nasty chlorine enviroment that is a Y pool. I was doing so much with Katharine I thought it would be a worthwhile investment. But it doesn’t stretch as well as a lycra…

Leave a Reply

