Currently reading: “Gold” by Chris Cleave

Howdy, friends.

I finally finished “Zoo Time,” which I hated. I was miserable the last 100 pages, just trying to power through. I mean, parts of it were really funny, but overall I thought it was way too much navel-gazing and was overly long.

So, the next book on my nightstand was “Gold” by Chris Cleave, who also wrote “Little Bee,” which I adored.

Image

Here is a review from the New York Times.

And here is one from the Washington Post.

Tell me what you’re reading.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Currently reading: “Gold” by Chris Cleave

  1. mizmollymae says:

    I just finished “My Ántonia” by Willa Cather. Wow. No wonder it’s a classic. I want my dad to read it: he grew up in a similar mixed language rural setting in Nebraska. But what I’m currently reading is your blog. :)

  2. msmidt says:

    After reading the NYT review of “Zoo Time,” I decided to take a pass. I’d say you were a trooper for keeping at it as long as you did. Have you ever read “The Art of Racing in the Rain?” It’s a fantastic read.

Leave a Reply

