Well, that never happens

Howdy, friends.

I’ve been doing well maintaining my running this December, despite work stuff and home stuff and kid stuff. It helps that the weather has generally been gorgeous. It’s a little icy right now, but sunny and clear and crisp.

So I set out to run at lunch, feeling unmotivated but fine otherwise. On days like that, I know that if I just go, everything will work out. And I would say that 99 percent of the time, it does.

Not today.

I ran with my friends Patrick and Jeff, and after about a half mile, I stopped. The last time that happened, I think I was pregnant with Jack. (No, I’m not pregnant.)

As we were going along, I felt kind of crappy, which is not unusual for me. I tell new runners, the first mile sucks for everyone, trust me. But today I felt oddly hollow and muted and kind of … out of it. And when I stopped, I felt really dizzy.

I ended up walking back to the gym — I tried running back but it just felt off, so I gave up.

It would be easy to be disappointed or frustrated or even just plain annoyed I even bothered to change into running clothes in the first place.

Instead, I enjoyed a lovely walk on a beautiful December day.

Got back to work, drank some water and ate a clementine and a pear the size of my head, and I feel fine. Who knows what happened. It doesn’t really matter.

I’ll try again tomorrow.

Happy running.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Well, that never happens

  1. Dave Graves says:

    A good attitude will take you far, even on days you can’t run far.

  2. Patrick says:

    I thought you were going down

Leave a Reply

