Subzero running

Howdy, friends.

I was almost late for my run this morning because I forgot how much longer it takes to get dressed when the windchill is 17 below zero.

I love winter running. I love the cold. The gear. The snow. How you can’t run fast because it’s too slippery, so you plod along with no pressure. I don’t love the little spot on my cheek that always gets frostbite-y, but in general, I adore winter running.

It was about 3 below for the temperature when we headed out, and then there’s the windchill. There’s always the windchill in South Dakota.

We ran 7.5 miles, and I only stopped because I had to get to an early meeting.

If you’re wondering what one wears to run when it’s 17 below windchill, here’s what I had on:

Knee-length Nike capri tights.

Full-length Mountain Hardwear tights over them.

SmartWool socks.

Patagonia capilene layer — the super tight, thick Scuba-ish kind.

Target fleece.

SportHill jacket.

Dollar stretchy mittens.

Pearl Izumi beefy winter gloves.

Nike hat.

Balaclava.

Handwarmers.

And, since it was 5:15 when we headed out, a reflective vest, the kind that construction workers wear.

I wasn’t cold at all.

Happy running.

This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Subzero running

  1. Graves, Dave says:

    And you hope that when you get home, you don’t have to go to the bathroom too urgently. :) I’ll be out tomorrow. Still had snow to move this morning. Happy running. DG

    From: Jack & Viv <comment-reply@wordpress.com> Reply-To: Jack & Viv <comment+ey8gnl0cua8wvhllueta0gi@comment.wordpress.com> Date: Monday, December 10, 2012 12:45 PM To: Dave Graves <Dave.Graves@sdstate.edu> Subject: [New post] Subzero running

    Jacqueline Palfy Klemond posted: “Howdy, friends. I was almost late for my run this morning because I forgot how much longer it takes to get dressed when the windchill is 17 below zero. I love winter running. I love the cold. The gear. The snow. How you can’t run fast because it’s t”

Leave a Reply

