Currently reading … Sherman Alexie and Patrick DeWitt

Howdy, friends.

I’ve been mowing through books lately, which is great, because I have about 40 of them on my nightstand. It makes me so happy to see that my son Jack’s nightstand looks the same — just crammed with library books. I hope he has a lifelong love affair with libraries, too.

I rarely read Young Adult novels, but I had heard so many good things about “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” by Sherman Alexie that I picked it up recently.

Book review here.

Friends, it was awesome. And now I am really annoyed I didn’t go listen to Alexie speak when he was here for our Festival of Books.

This is from the review:

For 15 years now, Sherman Alexie has explored the struggle to survive between the grinding plates of the Indian and white worlds. He’s done it through various characters and genres, but “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” may be his best work yet. Working in the voice of a 14-year-old forces Alexie to strip everything down to action and emotion, so that reading becomes more like listening to your smart, funny best friend recount his day while waiting after school for a ride home.

I think I need to add Sherman Alexie to my list of authors where I just read all their books in a row. Any suggestions on where to start?

I finished that on Sunday morning, and I started this Sunday evening:

Here is a review from the NY Times.

I’m only about 10 pages in. But so far, so good. A friend said she had trouble getting used to the style of the book. I haven’t noticed anything odd, but I’m not that far in yet.

There you go.

Happy reading.

 

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Currently reading … Sherman Alexie and Patrick DeWitt

  1. Megan Myers says:

    I love Alexie too, but you didn’t miss anything from his talk in Brookings – the audio in Frost Area was atrocious, and it was nearly impossible to hear anything he said unless you were in the front row. And I wasn’t. It was really disappointing. Hope they never use that venue again for a Festival of Books event.

Leave a Reply

